What to Wear {for the bride + groom to-be}

One of the most common questions I am asked by my bride and grooms to-be is… “What should we wear for our engagement photos?”

The answer is really very simple. Be YOU! Yes, there are a few things that I would steer away from, such as; your everyday tennis shoes (converse are the exception), super matchy-matchy, large writing and logos on your clothing, etc. However, there are some exceptions to the rules, but for the most part try to avoid those things.

This is not the same for every photographer, but I prefer everything very sweet and simple. Do you really want to look back at your photos 20 years from now and think, “Wow, that is not at all who we were.” Does anyone remember those Glamour Shots from the 90’s? You know, the place in the mall where they gave you big hair, hot pink lipstick, and sparkly clothes. I remember my Mom doing this (Sorry Mom!), and now when I see those photos of her I think, “That was not my Mom.” You want your photos to reflect who you are now as a couple, rather than the craziest/latest trends. Keep it simple and YOU. Don’t over-do it. Trust me, you won’t regret that decision.

Everyone knows of Pinterest, right? It’s one of my most favorite things. On my personal Pinterest, I have created a “What to Wear” board. Take a look around for some inspiration, and notice how simple everything is. When I look at these couples, I feel like I really have an idea of who they are.

Leave a Reply

